Ok, continuing on in my project, we arrive at Disney’s 1940 experiment and experience, “Fantasia!” Now, let me be clear about something: This is one of the Disney films that I did not grow up watching. I’ve only watched this film once and that was like last year when I was trying to watch all the films in the canon that I haven’t seen. And to be honest, I didn’t like this movie!

I know, I’m a horrible person! Yes, the animation was amazing and the individual sequences were told and drawn splendidly. The music was fitting and the effort was acknowledged. But from a personal level, I didn’t like this movie. It just didn’t click with me for some reason. I guess it’s too artistic for my brain to comprehend! I actually prefer films like “Make Mine Music” and “Melody Time” and even “Fantasia 2000” to this!

Enough with that! Anyway, “Fantasia” was Walt’s experiment merging animated sequences to classical music. It was intended to be an ongoing project with various sequels being released over the years. However, Walt’s masterpiece ended up being a flop at the box office; thereby crushing all dreams of further sequels (until 1999). The film itself is composed of 7 animated segments and an intermission segment and is known for its characters’ lack of dialogue.

It was very hard for me to choose a forgotten/minor character/characters from this film. The reason being is that every sequence has something memorable. For example, “The Sorcerer’s Apprentice” is just memorable and known worldwide. “Dance of the Hours” may not be as well-known; but everybody remembers the images of the dancing ostriches, elephants, hippos, and alligators. “Rite of Spring” is known for its somewhat eerie depictions of the beginning of Earth and the dinosaurs. “Nutcracker Suite” is known for certain characters, such as the dancing Oriental (apologies to all our Oriental friends) mushrooms, etc.

So in the end, I had to settle for the fact that the least memorable characters of this film were the ones in “The Pastoral Symphony.” Now, some of you may be arguing that this segment and its characters are not forgotten. Yes, I agree with that; but the reason that I list them here is that the whole segment and its characters take place in the world of Greek mythology. And the Disney Studios would later make a whole animated film based on Greek mythology called “Hercules.” And many of the characters are the same, such as Zeus:

Pegasus and other Flying Horses:

Centaurs:

And even Bacchus!

Now, if you ask the average person about what Disney film he/she thinks of when he/she thinks Greek mythology, he/she will  most definitely respond, “Hercules!” Yes, “Hercules” is the more recent of the two films, the more profitable of the two films, the one that was included in the Disney Renaissance, and the one that is fully based on Greek mythology. Actually, it’ll take a long time for the average person to even remember “Fantasia” as an example of Disney utilizing Greek mythology. When the average person hears “Fantasia”, they most often think of “The Sorcerer’s Apprentice” segment.

And that’s why I consider “The Pastoral Symphony” characters as the least memorable characters of Disney’s “Fantasia!”

