winnie the pooh backson

Sigh…

I REALLY REALLY was not looking forward to re-watching “Winnie the Pooh” for two reasons! The first reason was, as I’ve talked about in other posts, I REALLY don’t like this movie! And the second reason was that I had so much trouble picking a forgotten/minor character for “The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh”, and now I’d have to go through all that trouble again. I mean, who’s forgotten/minor in the “Winnie the Pooh” franchise?! UGH!!! Moving on…

Released in 2011, the 51st film in the Disney Canon (although other countries don’t count this one) wasn’t a financial success in the theaters. Then again, the budget was really small, so I’m sure that it made its money again on DVD purchases and/or rentals.

The film features our favorite characters from the Hundred Acre Wood who incorrectly assume that their friend Christopher Robin has been kidnapped by a monster called the Backson. How do they incorrectly assume this? Christopher Robin leaves them a note saying that he’ll be “back soon” and Owl incorrectly reads it as “Backson”!

We can't even attribute Owl's misreading to Christopher Robin's misspelling since "back soon" are one of the only words spelled correctly.

We can’t even attribute Owl’s misreading to Christopher Robin’s misspelling since “back soon” are one of the only words spelled correctly.

So they set a trap to capture the Backson and save Christopher Robin all while searching for a new tail for Eeyore after he’s lost his. That’s the entire plot right there.

"That's it?!"

“That’s it?!”

That’s it! Now you see the main reason why I dislike this film is that the whole story of the characters incorrectly thinking that Christopher Robin has been kidnapped due to an incorrect reading by Owl HAS ALREADY BEEN DONE IN “POOH’S GRAND ADVENTURE: THE SEARCH FOR CHRISTOPHER ROBIN”!

Oh, wonderful gem of a film! You are a treasure gravely forgotten, but never at my house! One day you'll receive the recognition that you deserve...be patient, dear film!

Oh, wonderful gem of a film! You are a treasure gravely forgotten, but never at my house! One day you’ll receive the recognition that you deserve…be patient, dear film!

I mean, it’s pretty darn similar! The difference is that in “Pooh’s Grand Adventure: The Search for Christopher Robin”, Christopher Robin’s note says that he’s gone to “”school”, and Owl misreads it as he’s been taken to a place called “Skull” by a monster called the “Skullasaurus”. Actually in both films after misreading the letter, Owl sings about it! I mean, in this movie, he sings “The Backson” describing the monster as he goes along,

and in “Pooh’s Grand Adventure: The Search for Christopher Robin”, he sings about Skull and the dangers getting there.

It just seems like such a rip-off!

So you may be wondering, if the whole movie is about the characters searching for the Backson, then why do I consider the Backson a MINOR character or a FORGOTTEN character?

"Yeah, why?"

“Yeah, why?”

Well, firstly, because he’s definitely less memorable than our friends of the Hundred Acre Wood.

And secondly, because the Backson only appears in the movie in a POST-CREDITS SCENE! And if you’re like me, you take the movie off once the end credits come on and don’t bother waiting for post-credits scenes, so I’m sure that many people didn’t even get to this part in the movie and that qualifies him as forgotten/minor in my book!

"And what book is that exactly?"

“And what book is that exactly?”

Here’s to the Backson!

"Oh...umm...thanks, but I'm a bit busy to accept the award now. But don't go away, I'll be back soon! Hmm...back soon...hey, it sounds like my name!"

“Oh…umm…thanks, but I’m a bit busy to accept the award now. But don’t go away, I’ll be back soon! Hmm…back soon…hey, that sounds like my name!”

