frozen

Ok, here it is: the review you all have been waiting for and asking me to do for the longest while! The reason I took so long to see it was that I was waiting for it to come out on DVD. Why? Well, because I would be able to snip images from it for my review the way I usually do. And also because, I honestly had no idea what I thought about it when I saw it the first time, hence my need to see it again.

So now that I’ve re-watched it, what do I think of Disney’s billion-dollar grossing addition to the Disney Canon, “Frozen”? Well…..it’s ok.

"WHAT WAS THAT?!"

“WHAT WAS THAT?!!!!”

I’m sorry, but I don’t love this movie! Don’t get me wrong, I do like it, but I don’t LOVE it! I feel this movie is quite overrated and not deserving of its more-than-a-billion-dollar gross.

Ok, before you hate me even more, let’s get on with the review. Oh and I should warn, don’t read on if you don’t want the film spoiled for you!

"I think you've already gone and spoiled the film for us!"

“I think you’ve already gone and spoiled the film for us!”

For those of you who somehow don’t know the story, the film is about two princesses: Princess Anna and Princess Elsa.

"Shh....don't tell them who is who!"

“Shh….don’t tell them who is who!”

Princess Elsa was born with a nigh uncontrollable ability to create ice from her hands. It’s first seen as a charming power, until one day, she accidentally hurts her sister, Princess Anna, with it.

"Well, I guess they know who is who now!"

“Well, I guess they know who is who now!”

Princess Anna is cured, but remembers nothing of Elsa’s powers and Elsa spends the next few years staying locked up in her room so that she can’t do any more harm whilst Anna has no idea why they’re not close anymore.

Poor unfortunate soul! I'm not sure who I feel more sorry for.

Poor unfortunate soul! I’m not sure who I feel more sorry for.

One day when they’re grown, Elsa becomes the Queen of her kingdom and hopes for a normal life where her powers won’t get hurt anyone. But, she’s unable to control her powers, causing herself to be exposed and the people to be frightened of her and/or deem her a sorceress.

The Ice Sorceress? Or The Snow Queen? I prefer the former.

The Ice Sorceress? Or The Snow Queen? I prefer the former.

Frightened, she runs away into the mountains while accidentally causing perpetual winter to fall upon the kingdom. So it’s up to Anna to go find her sister and get her to end the winter with the help of different characters along the way including an ice salesman named Kristoff

Oh, and his canine-like reindeer, Sven.

Oh, and his canine-like reindeer, Sven.

and a snowman named Olaf.

Don't ask me how Elsa's powers can create live snowmen. And don't ask me how snowmen can impale themselves and still live.

Don’t ask me how Elsa’s powers can create live snowmen. And don’t ask me how snowmen can impale themselves and still live.

Ok, so what are the good things that this movie has to offer? Firstly, the animation is gorgeous and detailed! The snow and ice look so real that you can almost feel the coldness of it yourself. The best animation can be seen during the song, “Let it Go” in which Elsa constructs an ice castle for herself.

Secondly, the voice acting is good too. Kristen Bell as Anna is like Mandy Moore as Rapunzel in the sense that she surprised me with an enjoyable performance. Josh Gad, Idina Menzel, and Alan Tudyk give good performances also.

Thirdly, it’s nice to see a different type of love being shown in the film besides romantic love. Oh don’t get me wrong, I’m not a huge feminist in the sense that I’m offended by the idea of the traditional prince/princess story in which the prince rescues the princess or their love shines through. I honestly quite enjoy that!

"First you anger the fans of the film. Now you anger the feminists! You're digging your own grave, boy!"

“First you anger the fans of the film. Now you anger the feminists! You’re digging your own grave, boy!”

But it’s nice to see familial love being praised and shown to be something powerful too. This is something we don’t see much in films, especially not loving sibling relationships.

Ok, now for the bad aspects: filler and dragggggggg………..SOOOO much of the movie is filled with just random babbling by Princess Anna with the other characters that just goes nowhere. Many songs in the movie are there just for the sake of being there. Yes, I’m talking about you, “Fixer Upper”!

Another thing that I see as a bad thing is the fact that the movie seems to push the idea of “how can you marry someone you just met” down the audience’s throats! Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have a problem with the message, but the WAY that they try to teach this message just seems so forced. Multiple times in the movie, they blatantly say that it’s wrong to marry someone you’ve just met, and the lines seem so forced as if the filmmakers have a gun to their heads while writing the script. I’d have loved it if they were able to teach this message with more subtleness.

These problems just totally distract from the viewing experience and make me merely like this film, instead of loving it.

Summing up, the answer to that infernal question is yes: Yes, I like “Tangled”Β better than “Frozen”.

frozen ranking

