bighero6

Well, it’s the review that you all have been waiting for: my review of the 54th Disney Canon film that won the Best Animated Feature Film Oscar in the 87th Academy Awards, Big Hero 6!

"Uh...we really weren't waiting for this review, to be honest."

“Uh…we really weren’t waiting for this review, to be honest.”

Too bad. Here’s my review!

I hesitate in describing this film much because I don’t want to give too much away. Basically, it’s about a young teenager named Hiro Hamada, voiced by Ryan Potter, who’s a genius for his age and spends his time participating in illegal bot-fights (underground fighting between controllable robots with betting involved).

I never thought I'd see the day when I'd see gambling in an animated Disney film...much less illegal gambling in an underground den where gangs, drugs, alcohol, and promiscuity almost certainly are abundant!

I never thought I’d see the day when I’d see gambling in an animated Disney film…much less illegal gambling in an underground den where gangs, drugs, alcohol, and promiscuity almost certainly are abundant!

This changes when his older brother, Tadashi, voiced by Daniel Henney, shows him the robotics lab of the university which he attends. Hiro then decides that he must do all he can to be accepted into this university! Since, he’s a genius, the university won’t care about his age. All he has to do is invent something that will sweep the head of the robotics program off his proverbial feet!

I don’t even wanna say more because I feel too much will be given away! Let’s just say that stuff happens, a plethora of side characters makes appearances, and Hiro comes into contact with a masked supervillain.

"THE PHANTOM OF THE DISNEY FILM IS THERE...INSIDE YOUR MIND!"

“THE PHANTOM OF THE DISNEY FILM IS THERE…INSIDE YOUR MIND!”

So, would I say this is a good movie? Yeah, I would. Would I say this is an excellent movie? Um…no, I wouldn’t say so.

What makes this film good? Well, the biggest thing that makes this movie good are the characters. This film has a plethora of characters from Hiro and Tadashi to Tadashi’s fellow robotics program participants to an inflatable, huggable health-care robot. All of the characters are extremely relatable! They each have different ethnicities and personalities. One character’s the goofball, one’s the perky one, one’s the no-nonsense one, one’s the cautious one, etc. My favorite character is the robot named Baymax, voiced by Scott Adsit who does an amazing job!

Be honest...you just said that line in Baymax's voice, didn't you?

Be honest…you just said that line in Baymax’s voice, didn’t you?

The other voice actors aren’t all that bad either. It’s nice to see an animated film where the majority of the voice actors aren’t big A-list celebrities.

"Are you saying that I, James Cromwell, am not an A-list celebrity?" "Of course not, I merely meant to say...what I mean is...you're...you see, you're a..." "That'll do, pig. That'll do."

“Are you saying that I, James Cromwell, am not an A-list celebrity?”
“Of course not, I merely meant to say…what I mean is…you’re…you see, you’re a…”
“That’ll do, pig. That’ll do.”

The animation is pretty standard. There wasn’t any scene where I was blown away by the animation as I was by other films such as How to Train Your Dragon 2, but I had no complaints with the animation either.

So, what makes this film bad? Well…I don’t think there’s anything I can pinpoint that makes this film BAD per se, rather there are elements that prevent this film from being great. The biggest monkey wrench in the works is the overall plot. The story (as you may surmise from the presence of a supervillain) is a superhero film in its essence. This is Disney Animation’s first such feature and it really shows. Like I said, it’s not bad, but the slight weakness of it prevents the film from being great.

"How can you NOT feel intimidated by a person in a kabuki mask?"

“How can you NOT feel intimidated by a person in a kabuki mask?”

Also, the pacing is a bit of a problem at times. Sometimes things seem to be going normally, then a whole bunch of stuff seems to happen all at once, then stuff seems to slow down, it’s all over the place!

In the end, the film is good enough for me not to get upset that it won the Oscar (although I personally predicted How to Train Your Dragon 2 to win thereby costing me on my total predictions outcome). This film is good enough to keep the Disney Revival going and it’s a film that you should check out for yourself!

bighero6ranking

Ok, as much as I love Baymax, am I the only person to not find this joke funny whatsoever?

Ok, as much as I love Baymax, am I the only person to not find this joke funny whatsoever?

